Affiliate disclosure: PestPro Index is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This helps us keep the site running and free for everyone. As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Four of these kits are empty boxes in packs of two or four, and one arrives pre-baited. The Roshield 4-pack suits a landlord stocking a whole property in one order. Choose the Roshield PRO BOX pair for bigger boxes that take bait or traps, or the Roshield 2-pack if you want an inspection window. Before you buy, check that you are allowed to use the bait that goes inside.
Best Professional Bait Station Kits Compared
Every column below is what the Amazon listing itself states. Where a listing does not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing.
| Product | Pack and bait, as listed | Size or active, as listed | Award |
|---|---|---|---|
| Roshield 4-pack | 4 boxes, no bait | not stated | Best Overall |
| Roshield PRO BOX 2-pack | 2 boxes, no bait | 26 x 19 x 12 cm | Runner-Up |
| Roshield Pro Quality 2-pack | 2 boxes, no bait | not stated | Best Budget |
| Pest Expert 4-pack | 4 boxes, no bait | not stated | Best Professional-Grade |
| Roshield pre-baited 2x kit | 2 boxes, bait included | not stated | Best Ready to Deploy |
Best Overall — Roshield Tamper Proof Rat Poison Box, 4 Pack
Bait
Roshield Tamper Proof Rat Poison Box, 4 Pack
Best Overall
- Four boxes, as listed; the listing says traps and bait are not included
- Listed as holding blocks and grain bait on a metal rod
- Listed at 3 kilograms for the pack
- Target species listed as Mouse, Rat
- Listed as designed and made in the UK from recycled materials
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Our overall pick for a landlord stocking a whole property in one order. You get four empty boxes, each listed as holding blocks or grain bait on a metal rod, and the listing says they are designed and made in the UK from recycled materials. The bait and its label conditions are your choice.
Pros:
- Four boxes in the pack
- Metal rod holds blocks or grain bait
- Designed and made in the UK from recycled materials, as listed
- Listed for mice and rats
Runner-Up — Roshield PRO BOX 2 Extra Large Bait Stations
Bait station
Roshield PRO BOX 2 Extra Large Bait Stations — Solid Lid
Runner-Up
- Two extra-large stations; the listing says bait is not included
- Listed with a secure solid lid for easy inspection
- Listed at 26 x 19 x 12 cm and 500 grams
- Target species listed as Mouse, Rat
- Listed for indoor and outdoor use, and for rodenticide or traps
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Suits you if you want fewer, larger boxes. Each of the two stations is listed at 26 x 19 x 12 cm, with what the listing calls a secure solid lid for easy inspection. You can load them with rodenticide or traps, indoors or out.
Pros:
- Two extra-large stations, 26 x 19 x 12 cm
- Solid lid the listing says is for easy inspection
- Takes rodenticide or traps
- Listed for indoor and outdoor use
Best Budget — Roshield Pro Quality Tamper-Resistant Bait Box, 2 Pack
Bait station
Roshield Pro Quality Tamper-Resistant Bait Box, 2 Pack
Best Budget
- Two boxes, as listed; no bait included
- Listed with an inspection window and key-only access
- Listed as holding wax blocks, wheat bait, pasta sachets and traps
- Target species listed as Mouse, Rat
- Listed for indoor and outdoor use
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Buy this pair if you want to look in without unlocking every box. The listing states an inspection window and key-only access. Each box is listed as holding wax blocks, wheat bait, pasta sachets or traps, and both are listed for indoor and outdoor use.
Pros:
- Inspection window, as listed
- Key-only access
- Takes wax blocks, wheat bait, pasta sachets and traps
- Listed for indoor and outdoor use
Best Professional-Grade — Pest Expert Heavy Duty Outdoor Bait Boxes
Bait
Pest Expert Heavy Duty Outdoor Bait Boxes — Pack of 4
Best Professional-Grade
- Four boxes, as listed; no bait included
- Listed as fully lockable and weather resistant
- Listed as taking grain, blocks and paste
- Target species listed as Mouse, Rat
- Listed for indoor and outdoor use
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Suits a property with several runs outside. You get four heavy-duty boxes listed as fully lockable and weather resistant, and they take grain, blocks or paste. The listing names mice and rats and states indoor and outdoor use.
Pros:
- Four boxes in the pack
- Fully lockable and weather resistant, as listed
- Takes grain, blocks and paste
- Listed for indoor and outdoor use
Best Ready to Deploy — Roshield 2x Pre-Baited Rat Kit
Product
Roshield 2x Pre-Baited Rat Kit — Ready to Deploy
Best Ready to Deploy
- Two pre-baited lockable stations with an access key, as listed
- Active substance not named on the listing
- Listed as refillable and reusable
- Target species listed as Rat
- Listed as made in the UK
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
If you need something down the day it arrives, this kit comes pre-baited. You get two lockable stations with an access key, listed as refillable, reusable and made in the UK. The listing names rat as the target and does not name the active substance, so read the pack before you use it.
Pros:
- Arrives pre-baited
- Two lockable stations with an access key
- Refillable and reusable, as listed
- Made in the UK, as listed
Start with your situation
- You are not sure you should be putting poison down. HSE lists anticoagulants after the other methods — whether you need bait at all.
- You have bought bait marked for professional use. HSE is plain that the general public must not use it — who may use the bait.
- You put boxes out before and saw nothing for a week. Defra’s code says to allow two to three weeks — where a kit does not help.
- You want boxes only, for bait you already hold. Four kits here are empty — four boxes, four heavy-duty, two extra-large and two with a window.
- You want a kit that arrives with bait in it. One does — the pre-baited pair, whose listing does not name the active.
Warning
Rodenticide is toxic to mammals generally, not only to rats and mice. Every bait that goes into these boxes must be used inside a tamper-resistant station, and that is a condition of the bait’s label rather than a recommendation.
Do You Need Bait at All?
A box holds bait; it does not decide whether bait is the answer. HSE puts anticoagulants last: “If you need to deal with a rodent problem, it is important to remember to consider other available control methods, such as those listed above, before reaching for anticoagulant products.” (HSE). For a landlord that means proofing the property and trapping come before any of the kits below.
Who May Use the Bait, and What the Box Must Be
The boxes are sold freely and to anyone. The bait is not, and this is the honest position for a landlord who is not a pest control professional. HSE states that “members of the general public must not use professional or industrial use products” and that “If you are a member of the public, you should only use biocidal products that are intended for the general public” (HSE) — the label may say amateur or non-professional instead. The one pre-baited kit here does not name its active or its authorisation on the fetched listing; read the pack before you use it.
The box has a standard of its own. CRRU UK sets out the label text HSE requires of a tamper-resistant station: it must be “Strong enough to prevent entry or destruction by dogs.” and “Lockable or sealable so that children and dogs cannot gain access through the opening or mechanisms used to fill the bait compartments.” (CRRU UK, thinkwildlife.org). Every box below is listed as lockable; whether it meets the rest is the reader’s test to apply, not this page’s certificate.
Where a Bait Station Kit Does Not Help
In the first fortnight. Defra’s code of practice for rodent control notes that “it is best to allow at least two to three weeks for rats to get used to feeding in bait boxes placed in their environment, before deciding on whether the method being used is working.” (GOV.UK). A box ignored in week one is normal.
Against the way in. A station reduces the rodents that are here; the gap they came through is still there.
As a compliance certificate. A box listed as complying with the regulations is the maker’s statement. The standard is quoted above; apply it to the box in your hand.
What Decides the Choice
1. How many boxes the property needs
Packs here are two or four. Count the runs and entry points you have seen — along walls, behind appliances, at the base of an external door — and buy for that number, not for the number of bedrooms.
2. Whether you can check it without opening it
One listing here states an inspection window. The others are opened with a key, and the Defra code’s point is that the key is what makes a check possible at all.
3. Empty, or pre-baited
Four kits are empty and leave the choice of bait to you, with its own label conditions. One arrives baited and its fetched listing names no active; the comparison table says so.
If Bait Is Not the Answer
Proof the property first. Bait removes the rodents that are here; our rodent proofing page covers the way in.
Trap instead. Two boxes here are listed as taking traps as well as bait — see our rat traps and mouse traps pages.
Read the bait question separately. Which rodenticide goes in the box, and whether you may use it, is covered on our rat poison and mouse poison pages.
Placing and Checking Them
- Put them on the runs. Rodents travel along walls and fixed edges; a box in open floor is a box in the wrong place.
- Lock them and keep the key. A station that is not locked is a bowl.
- Give it two to three weeks. That is Defra’s own figure above.
- Check consumption, not the calendar. You cannot tell whether bait is being taken without looking.
- Follow the bait’s own label. The box does not change what the label on the rodenticide requires, or who it says may use it.
A property you would rather not bait yourself?
Where the bait you need is professional-use only, compare pest control providers near you — no fees, no commissions.