Best Rat Poison UK 2026: What You Can Legally Buy

Rat poisons available in the UK, from brodifacoum blocks to grain bait and paste formulations

By the PestPro Index TeamUpdated September 20268 min read

Affiliate disclosure: PestPro Index is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This helps us keep the site running and free for everyone. As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Every product on this page is an anticoagulant, and the regulator’s own view of that class is on record: “Risk assessments carried out by regulators, including HSE, have shown that anticoagulants present a higher risk to people and non-target animals than is normally acceptable for authorisation in Great Britain and Northern Ireland.” (HSE). They are sold anyway, under conditions. The conditions are the page.

Start with your situation

Poison Is Not the Default

HSE: “If you need to deal with a rodent problem, it is important to remember to consider other available control methods, such as those listed above, before reaching for anticoagulant products.” Traps and proofing are those methods, and they have their own pages here. CRRU’s Code puts a survey ahead of any bait: “Before treatment begins, a thorough survey of the infested site is an essential key to success when using any rodenticide.” (CRRU UK Code of Best Practice).

What a householder may buy is restricted, and HSE says how. “In order to ensure rodenticides are used as safely as possible by the general public, rodenticide products may be restricted in ways such as: the amount of active substance they contain where they can be used (for example only within a bait box) the maximum pack size that can be sold” (HSE). Every product here is sold to the public; three of the six listings state their active concentration, and all of the ones that say where the bait goes say a tamper-resistant station.

Professional products are a different category. HSE lists the professional restrictions separately, among them “the types of treatment programmes that can be used (for example no permanent baiting)”, and adds that “the use of anticoagulant rodenticides by professional users in Great Britain and Northern Ireland must follow the requirements of one of the UK rodenticide stewardship regimes”. Where a listing says “Previously only available to professionals.” that is the maker’s statement about its own history, not a statement about what you may use.

Permanent baiting is ruled out, not merely discouraged. CRRU’s notice to professional users: “Except as a justifiable last resort against clear long-term threats to human or animal health, the UK Rodenticide Stewardship Regime now rules out permanent rodenticide baiting around the outside of rural buildings.” (CRRU UK). And its Code, for everyone: “Rodenticide baits should only be used for as long as is necessary to achieve satisfactory control.” With a timescale: “In most cases, any anticoagulant bait should have achieved control within 35 days.”

What a tamper-resistant station has to be. CRRU records the label text now required of them: “Strong enough to prevent entry or destruction by dogs.” and “Lockable or sealable so that children and dogs cannot gain access through the opening or mechanisms used to fill the bait compartments.” (CRRU UK). Defra’s code says the same in one line: “Commercially available tamper-resistant bait boxes should normally be used to secure baits from non-target animals.” (Defra).

Where Poison Does Not Help

In the first fortnight. Defra: “Rats: In contrast, rats exhibit behaviour known as ‘new object reaction’ or neophobia.” So: “it is best to allow at least two to three weeks for rats to get used to feeding in bait boxes placed in their environment, before deciding on whether the method being used is working.” Untouched bait in week one is expected.

Where the bait is exposed. CRRU’s Code: “Care should be taken to ensure that bait is sufficiently protected to avoid accidentally poisoning other mammals and birds.” A sachet on a shelf is not a treatment; it is the risk HSE describes above.

As a standing arrangement. The 35-day figure and the rule against permanent baiting are both above. A station kept stocked all year is the thing the regime rules out.

What Decides the Choice

1. Whether the listing names the active and its strength

Four of the six do: Roshield brodifacoum 0.0025%, Pest Expert grain 0.0029%, Rentokil Rodine 0.0025%, Pest Expert blocks 0.0025%. The Elixir and Racan listings name nothing. HSE’s first restriction on public products is the amount of active they contain; a listing that does not state it leaves you reading the pack.

2. Whether a station comes with it

One product does — the Pest Expert kit, with two lockable boxes. Every other listing that mentions placement says the bait belongs in a tamper-resistant station you already own.

3. Block, grain or paste, as listed

Two block products, three grain, one paste. Roshield describes its blocks as tolerant to humidity; Pest Expert says its blocks are pre-formed for the rod in its boxes. Those are the listings’ own placement facts, and the table carries them.

Best Overall — Roshield Brodifacoum Blocks

Bait

1

Roshield Brodifacoum Wax Blocks

Best Overall

Active ingredient listed as brodifacoum, 0.0025%; HSE registration UK-2016-0997-0006 stated on the listing
Listed as 300g, 15 x 20g blocks, ready to use in tamper-resistant bait stations, for rats and mice in and around buildings
The maker says not to use brodifacoum as a first step unless in an area of known resistance or where other baits have shown little impact
The maker describes the blocks as tolerant to humidity
Item form field on the listing reads Granules
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Fifteen 20g wax blocks with brodifacoum at 0.0025% and an HSE registration number stated on the listing, described as ready to use in tamper-resistant bait stations in and around buildings. The maker's own advice is not to start with brodifacoum unless resistance is known or other baits have failed — carried here because it is the listing's, and it is unusual to see.

Best Professional-Strength — Pest Expert Formula B+ Grain Bait

Bait

2

Pest Expert Formula B+ Grain Bait

Best Professional-Grade

Active concentration listed as brodifacoum 0.0029%
Listed as 1kg in 10 x 100g sachets; wholewheat grain, no wax
The maker states it can be used indoors and outdoors
Item form field on the listing reads Capsules
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

A kilogram of wholewheat grain in ten sachets, with brodifacoum stated at 0.0029%, for use indoors and outdoors per the maker. The listing's comparisons with other brands are the maker's and are not repeated. Its item form field reads Capsules; the title and bullets say grain.

Best Value — Elixir Gardens Rodex Whole Wheat

Bait

3

Elixir Gardens Rodex Whole Wheat Sachets

Best Budget

Listed as 1kg in 10 x 100g ready-to-use sachets, whole wheat
No active substance is named on this listing
The maker says a red dye colours droppings so you can tell the bait is being taken
Listing warning: contains an anticoagulant; if ingested call a poison centre, UK 111
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

A kilogram of whole-wheat sachets whose listing names no active substance, so what is in it is on the pack and not on the page you buy from. The maker says a red dye marks droppings so uptake can be seen without opening the box. The listing's own warning — an anticoagulant; if ingested call 111 — is the one health line on this page.

Brodifacoum Grain Bait, 200g — Rentokil Rodine Grain Bait

Bait

4

Rentokil Rodine Mouse & Rat Killer Grain Bait

Brodifacoum Grain Bait, 200g

Active listed as brodifacoum, 0.0025% w/w
Listed as 200g of grain bait in sachets designed for lockable, tamper-resistant bait stations
The maker claims a lethal dose in one feed
Listing dimensions 4 x 10.5 x 18.5 cm
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Two hundred grams of grain bait in sachets the listing says are designed for lockable, tamper-resistant stations, with brodifacoum at 0.0025% w/w. The label carried difenacoum until S68 R3; the listing names brodifacoum, and the label now says so.

Best Paste Bait — Racan Force Paste

Gel bait

5

Racan Force Rat & Mouse Killer Paste

Best Paste Bait

Listed as 6 x 10g paste sachets; item form Paste
No active substance is named on the listing
The maker says the sachets should be used in its tamper-proof bait stations
The listing's own description text refers to mice throughout
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Six 10g paste sachets whose listing names no active substance and whose description refers to mice throughout, with the maker's instruction that they go in its tamper-proof stations. The claim that it was previously professional-only is the maker's history of its own product.

Best Combo Kit — Pest Expert Bait Block Kit

Bait

6

Pest Expert Rat Poison Bait Block Kit

Best Combo Kit

Active concentration listed as brodifacoum 0.0025%
Listed as 1.5kg in 5 x 300g — 75 blocks of 20g — with 2 lockable, tamper-resistant bait boxes
Blocks listed as pre-formed to fit the metal rod inside each box
Boxes listed as suited to indoor and exterior use
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

The one product here that arrives with somewhere to put it: 75 blocks of 20g at brodifacoum 0.0025%, listed with two lockable, tamper-resistant boxes that carry a metal rod the blocks are pre-formed to sit on, for indoor and exterior use.

If Poison Is Not the Answer

A trap, first. That is the method HSE asks you to consider before an anticoagulant — our rat traps page.

Proofing, always. Defra’s code: “Buildings should be proofed as far as possible against rodent ingress” — our rodent proofing page.

A professional, for anything you cannot survey. CRRU’s survey-first line is above; where the harbourage is in a cavity or under a floor you cannot open, the survey is not yours to do.

Using It

  1. Survey first. Runs, droppings, burrow entrances — CRRU’s essential key to success.
  2. Put every bait in a tamper-resistant station. Strong enough for dogs, lockable against children, per the label text CRRU records.
  3. Leave it two to three weeks before judging it. Defra’s figure for neophobic rats.
  4. Stop when control is achieved. Within 35 days in most cases, per CRRU; the bait comes up, it is not left down.
  5. Read the pack for what the listing does not say. Two of the six name no active substance online.
⚠️

Warning

A bait station kept stocked all year is what the stewardship regime rules out. The bait goes down for a treatment and comes up when it has worked.

The Six Products Compared

Every column below is what the Amazon listing itself states. Where a listing does not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing.

ProductForm and active, as listedAward
Roshield Brodifacoum Blocks 300gWax block; brodifacoum 0.0025%, as listedBest Overall
Pest Expert Formula B+ 1kgGrain sachets; brodifacoum 0.0029%, as listedBest Professional-Grade
Elixir Gardens Rodex 1kgGrain sachets; active not stated, as listedBest Budget
Rentokil Rodine 200gGrain sachets; brodifacoum 0.0025%, as listedBrodifacoum Grain Bait, 200g
Racan Force Paste 6 x 10gPaste sachets; active not stated, as listedBest Paste Bait
Pest Expert Block Kit 1.5kg + 2 boxesWax blocks + 2 stations; brodifacoum 0.0025%, as listedBest Combo Kit

Rats in a cavity, a void or under a floor you cannot open?

That is the survey CRRU puts first, and it is a professional's. Compare pest control providers near you, no fees and no commissions.