Affiliate disclosure: PestPro Index is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This helps us keep the site running and free for everyone. As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
A mouse trap catches the mouse that is in. Oxford City Council’s advice is about the ones that are not yet: “Even gaps as small as 6mm, like those around pipes, can allow entry, so sealing these is crucial.” (Oxford City Council).
Start with your situation
- You keep catching mice and they keep coming. That is a gap, not a trap — the gap matters more than the trap.
- You want to know what the law allows. Break-back traps sit in a named place in the spring trap rules — the legal position.
- You are choosing between a trap and poison. HSE asks for other methods first, and RRAG says why mice are a special case — if trapping is not the answer.
- You want a trap that does not kill. Two of the five are listed as live-catch — the humane traps.
The Gap Matters More Than the Trap
Defra’s code describes what you are up against: “They can pass through very small gaps, and can jump significant distances and burrow in soil or other materials.” (Defra). And what they do to a gap that is not quite big enough: “Both rats and mice can gnaw a range of materials including concrete, wood, soft metals and plastics and can create gaps below house doors to gain easy access.” Its instruction follows: “Buildings should be proofed as far as possible against rodent ingress”. Our rodent proofing page is that job; this page is the trap that comes after it.
The Legal Position on Mouse Traps
Spring traps generally need approval by order before use, and Defra names the exception: “Only spring traps approved under the Spring Traps Approval Order (or equivalent in Scotland , Wales and Northern Ireland ) may be used, although break back traps commonly used against rats and mice are exempt from the requirement to be approved.” The three snap traps on this page are break-back traps.
The two live-catch traps are not spring traps at all. What the law says about the animal once caught is not something any source read for this page states, and it is not stated here.
Where a Trap Catches Nothing
Where the bait is not on the trigger. Nebraska Extension on baited traps: “For baited traps, secure bait to the trigger with string or common glue.” (University of Nebraska–Lincoln Extension). Loose bait is taken without the trap firing.
Where the entry is still open. A trap in a house with a 6mm gap catches this week’s mouse and next week’s. That is the council’s point above, and it is not a fault in the trap.
Where it is the wrong size. Two listings here carry Rat as well as Mouse in their target species field, and one maker says its trap is larger than smaller alternatives. The listing states the size; the mouse does not read it.
What Decides the Choice
1. Kill or live catch, as listed
Three snap traps and two live-catch traps. The listing says which, and the table carries it.
2. How many in the pack
Six, four, six, two and two, per the listings’ number-of-pieces rows. The Trisiki card was corrected from six to four against its listing at S67 R10.
3. What the listing says it is made of
ABS plastic for the Trisiki and AKCHY, plastic for the ASPECTEK, wood with a wire cage for the UNIQU. Roshield’s listing states a welded kill bar and a high-strength spring rather than a material.
Best Overall — ROSHIELD 6-Pack Mouse Trap
Trap
ROSHIELD 6-Pack Mouse Trap
Best Overall
- Listed as 6 traps; number of pieces 6; target species Mouse, Rat
- The maker describes a high-strength spring, a sensitive trigger and a welded kill bar
- The maker says the trigger plate is larger than smaller alternatives
- Listed as usable inside Roshield rodent bait stations; indoor and outdoor
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Six snap traps listed with Mouse and Rat as target species, which the maker describes as having a high-strength spring, a sensitive trigger, a welded kill bar and a trigger plate larger than smaller traps. The listing says they can be set inside Roshield bait stations. The maker's claim about industry use is the maker's.
Best Heavy Duty — Trisiki 4-Pack Heavy Duty Mouse Trap
Trap
Trisiki 4-Pack Heavy Duty Mouse Trap
Best Heavy Duty
- Fetched title: 4 Pack Upgraded Rat Traps; number of pieces 4
- Target species listed as Mouse, Rat
- Material listed as ABS plastic; 318g
- The maker describes it as a larger trap for a range of rodent sizes
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Four snap traps whose fetched title reads 4 Pack Upgraded Rat Traps, listed for mouse and rat, in ABS plastic at 318g. Carded as a six-pack until S67 R10; the listing's number of pieces reads 4.
Best Budget — ASPECTEK 6-Pack Mouse Trap
Trap
ASPECTEK 6-Pack Mouse Trap
Best Budget Option
- Listed as 6 traps; number of pieces 6; target species Mouse
- Material listed as plastic; the maker says it resists stains and odours
- Listed for indoor and outdoor placement
- Product dimensions listed as 9.8 x 4.5 x 5.5 cm
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Six plastic snap traps listed with Mouse as the only target species, for indoor and outdoor placement, at 9.8 x 4.5 x 5.5 cm. The maker's claim that rodents avoid wooden traps after a kill is the maker's and is not repeated.
Best Humane — AKCHY Humane Mouse Trap 2-Pack
Trap
AKCHY Humane Mouse Trap 2-Pack
Best Humane Option
- Listed as live catch and release; number of pieces 2
- Target species listed as Mouse, Rat; material ABS plastic
- The maker says no poison and no glue
- Product dimensions listed as 17 x 6.1 x 6.6 cm
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Two live-catch traps in ABS plastic listed for mouse and rat, 17 x 6.1 x 6.6 cm, which the maker describes as using no poison and no glue. The brand row reads AKCHY; the card carried another brand's name until S68 R1.
Best Easy-Clean — UNIQU 2-Pack Humane Mouse Trap
Trap
UNIQU 2-Pack Humane Mouse Trap
Best Easy-Clean Humane
- Listed as live catch and release; number of pieces 2
- Material listed as wood, with a wire-mesh cage per the maker
- Listed for indoor and outdoor use; 210g
- Target species listed as Mouse, Rat
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Two live-catch cages in wood with a wire-mesh body, listed for indoor and outdoor use at 210g, target species Mouse, Rat. The brand row reads UNIQU; the card carried another name until S68 R1.
If Trapping Is Not the Answer
Poison is not the next step by default. HSE: “If you need to deal with a rodent problem, it is important to remember to consider other available control methods, such as those listed above, before reaching for anticoagulant products.” (HSE). And with mice there is a further reason. RRAG: “The house mouse (Mus musculus) possesses a degree of natural resistance to anticoagulant rodenticides.” (Rodenticide Resistance Action Group). Our mouse poison page carries what that means for the products.
Proof first. Defra’s instruction is above; the materials are on our rodent proofing page.
Setting and Placing Them
- Find the gap before you set the trap. Around pipes, under doors, per Oxford and Defra.
- Secure the bait to the trigger. String or glue, per Nebraska Extension.
- Set more than one. The packs here are six, four, six, two and two.
- Put a snap trap inside a station if pets or children are about. The Roshield listing states its traps fit its stations.
Did You Know?
A trap that keeps catching is telling you about a gap. The council’s 6mm is the figure to check against.
The Five Traps Compared
Every column below is what the Amazon listing itself states. Where a listing does not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing.
| Product | Type and count, as listed | Award |
|---|---|---|
| ROSHIELD 6-Pack | Snap trap; 6, as listed | Best Overall |
| Trisiki 4-Pack | Snap trap; 4, as listed | Best Heavy Duty |
| ASPECTEK 6-Pack | Snap trap; 6, as listed | Best Budget |
| AKCHY Humane 2-Pack | Live-catch trap; 2, as listed | Best Humane |
| UNIQU 2-Pack | Live-catch cage; 2, as listed | Best Easy-Clean |