Affiliate disclosure: PestPro Index is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This helps us keep the site running and free for everyone. As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
A nest foam is pointed at a nest. Oxford City Council lists where a nest is likely to be: “Wasps build colonies inside nests made from wood pulp, commonly found in buildings’ roof spaces, airbricks, wall cavities, garden sheds, tree holes, and soil banks.” (Oxford City Council). Half of those are places a can cannot see into.
Start with your situation
- The nest is large, or inside a wall or roof. The council says larger nests may need a professional — if a product is not the answer.
- You want to know what you are allowed to use. HSE separates general-public products from professional ones — the legal position.
- The nest is at the back of a cavity or under a slab. That is where a powder goes and a foam does not — where a foam or powder does not help.
- You want the listing that states its reach. Two of the three foams do — what decides the choice.
Where the Nest Is, and When It Ends
The council on size: “By early autumn, nests can contain thousands of wasps.” And on the end: “Fertilized queens leave to hibernate, while the rest of the colony dies off with the onset of cold weather.” A nest that is not near people and not being disturbed will end on its own.
The council’s reason for treating one at all is the one health sentence on this page: “Wasps can carry germs and attack when disturbed, posing a risk to hypersensitive individuals.”
The Legal Position on Wasp Products
All five are insecticides. HSE’s guidance on using biocides: “If you are a member of the public, you should only use biocidal products that are intended for the general public - sometimes the terms 'amateur' or 'non-professional' might be used instead.” (HSE). And: “members of the general public must not use professional or industrial use products”. The label on the can states which a product is; the listings here do not, though one states an HSE-approved formulation.
HSE on the label: “Following the label instructions carefully should be enough to allow the product to be used safely and effectively.” Three listings carry timing directions of their own — late evening, or early morning — and they are repeated on the cards as the makers’.
Where a Foam or Powder Does Not Help
A foam, beyond its listed reach. Two foams state a reach — 4 metres and 2 metres. A nest under a roof tile or high on a soffit may be beyond both. The council’s line: “However, larger nests may require professional treatment.”
A foam, at an entrance you cannot see the nest behind. The two powders are listed for exactly that — nest entrances, cracks and crevices, roof spaces and wall cavities, per the Zero In powder listing. Which product fits is a fact about where the nest is.
Anything, next year. Per the council, the colony dies with the cold and only the queens overwinter.
What Decides the Choice
1. Foam or powder, by where the nest is
Three foams for a nest you can see and reach; two powders for an entrance you can only puff into. The table states the form for every row.
2. Reach and treatments per can, as listed
Zero In Ultra Power: up to 4 metres, 4-7 nests per 600ml. Zero In 300ml: up to 2 metres, 2-3 treatments. Rentokil foam: neither stated.
3. Which active the listing names
Rentokil foam: d-phenothrin and tetramethrin. Zero In 300ml foam: permethrin and tetramethrin. Both powders: permethrin. The 600ml Zero In foam names none.
Best Overall — Rentokil Wasp Nest Destroyer Foam
Foam
Rentokil Wasp Nest Destroyer Foam 300ml
Best Overall
- Fetched title: Rentokil PSW97 Wasp Destroy Foam Aerosol 300ml
- Contains d-phenothrin and tetramethrin, per the listing
- Aerosol; target species listed as Insects
- Reach and treatments per can are not stated on the listing
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
A 300ml aerosol foam whose listing states d-phenothrin and tetramethrin and nothing else that a reader can use: no reach, no treatments per can, no timing. Those cells read not stated. The one product here whose listing says the least.
Best Long-Range — Zero In Ultra Power 600ml
Foam
Zero In Ultra Power Wasp & Hornet Nest Killer Foam 600ml
Best Long-Range
- Listed as reaching up to 4 metres; the maker says a 600ml can treats 4 to 7 nests
- Listed for indoor and outdoor nests, with a thumb-lock trigger
- Listing directions: use in the late evening; wear protective clothing; mind the wind outdoors
- No active substance is named on the listing; target species Insects
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
A 600ml trigger foam listed as reaching up to 4 metres and, per the maker, treating 4 to 7 nests, for indoor and outdoor use, with directions to apply in the late evening, wear protective clothing and mind the wind. No active substance is named on the listing; the maker's comparisons with professionals are the maker's.
Best Value — Zero In Wasp Nest Killer Foam
Foam
Zero In Wasp Nest Killer Foam 300ml
Best Value
- Contains permethrin and tetramethrin, per the listing
- Listed as reaching up to 2 metres; 2-3 treatments per 300ml can
- Listed for indoor and outdoor nests
- Listing directions: apply late evening or early morning when wasps are less active
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
A 300ml foam listed with permethrin and tetramethrin, reaching up to 2 metres, with 2-3 treatments per can, for indoor and outdoor nests, applied late evening or early morning per the maker. The same product is carded on our wasp killers page.
Best Powder — Rentokil Wasp Killer Powder
Powder
Rentokil Wasp Killer Powder 150g
Best Powder
- Active ingredient listed as permethrin
- Powder, 150g; listed for use in and around the home
- Target species listed as Insects
- The brand row on the listing reads UKDeals Direct — a reseller; the title reads Rentokil
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
A 150g permethrin powder listed for use in and around the home. The brand row on the listing belongs to a reseller; the title carries the Rentokil name, and the title is what the card reads.
Permethrin Powder Puffer, 300g — Zero In Powder 300g
Powder
Zero In Wasp Nest Control Powder 300g
Permethrin Powder Puffer, 300g
- Fetched title is a single 300g puffer; unit count listed as 1
- Contains permethrin, per the listing; child-resistant cap
- Listed with a dip tube and applicator nozzle for nest entrances, cracks and crevices
- Listed for roof spaces, wall cavities, sheds, garages and garden areas; best applied early morning or late evening, per the maker
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
A single 300g permethrin puffer with a dip tube and applicator nozzle, listed for nest entrances, cracks and crevices in roof spaces, wall cavities, sheds and garages, with a child-resistant cap and early-morning or late-evening timing per the maker. The card and its label said twin pack until S68 R2 and R3; the listing's unit count is 1.
If a Product Is Not the Answer
Leave it, if it is leaving you alone. The council’s lifecycle is above; a nest not near people needs nothing.
A professional, for a large or unreachable nest. Oxford City Council: “However, larger nests may require professional treatment.” HSE: “If you are not a professional, consider using a professional pest controller to deal with the problem.” Our wasp nest guide covers what a treatment visit involves.
Using Them
- Decide whether it needs treating. Near people and disturbed, or not.
- Match the product to the nest. Foam for a nest you can see within the listed reach; powder for an entrance.
- Follow the listing’s timing. Late evening or early morning, per three of the five.
- Wear what the listing says. Protective clothing, per the Ultra Power listing.
Warning
The council’s line that larger nests may require professional treatment is the one this page defers to. A nest inside a wall or a roof is that nest.
The Five Products Compared
Every column below is what the Amazon listing itself states. Where a listing does not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing.
| Product | Form, actives and reach, as listed | Award |
|---|---|---|
| Rentokil PSW97 300ml | Foam; d-phenothrin + tetramethrin; reach not stated | Best Overall |
| Zero In Ultra Power 600ml | Foam; active not stated; up to 4m, 4-7 nests, as listed | Best Long-Range |
| Zero In Wasp Nest Killer 300ml | Foam; permethrin + tetramethrin; up to 2m, 2-3 treatments, as listed | Best Value |
| Rentokil Wasp Nest Killer Powder 150g | Powder; permethrin; 150g, as listed | Best Powder |
| Zero In Wasp Nest Control Powder 300g | Powder puffer; permethrin; single 300g, as listed | Permethrin Powder Puffer, 300g |