Best Ultrasonic Pest Repellers UK 2026 | Do They Work?

Six ultrasonic repellers compared, from mains plug-ins for one room or several to battery and rechargeable units for lofts, sheds and caravans

By the PestPro Index TeamUpdated September 20268 min read

Our top picks

  1. Best Overall

    The Big Cheese Sonic Mouse & Rat Repeller Plug-In

    For after an infestation is under control: a mains plug-in for mice and rats.

    Check price on Amazon
  2. Best Plug-In

    VNEED Ultrasonic Pest Repeller Plug-In

    For a mix of pests: a mains plug-in whose listing names nine target species.

    Check price on Amazon
  3. Best for Multiple Rooms

    EcoMyLife Ultrasonic Pest Repeller (2 Pack)

    For more than one room: two plug-in units, and the listing advises one per room.

    Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Affiliate disclosure: PestPro Index is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This helps us keep the site running and free for everyone. As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Six ultrasonic units, from mains plug-ins to battery and rechargeable models, compared on what each listing states. The Big Cheese plug-in is listed for mice and rats and has a TEST button, and the EcoMyLife pack gives you two units if you have more than one room in mind. For a loft, barn or caravan with no socket, the Pestbye 360 charges by USB-C.

The Six Compared

Every column below is what the Amazon listing itself states, with each coverage figure attributed to the maker who claims it. Where a listing does not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing.

ProductPowerTarget species, as listedCoverage claimed by the makerAward
The Big Cheese Sonic RepellerMains plug-inMouse, RatUp to 37m², per the makerBest Overall
VNEED Ultrasonic Pest RepellerMains plug-inNine species listedUp to 1,200 sq ft, per the makerBest Plug-In
EcoMyLife Ultrasonic Pest RepellerMains plug-in, 2 unitsEleven species listed1,200 sq ft each, per the makerBest for Multiple Rooms
Pestbye 360 RechargeableRechargeable, cordlessRodents, per the titleUp to 170 hours a charge, per the makerBest Cordless
Pestbye Spider & Crawling Insect RepellerBattery, 2 x PP3SpiderUp to 2,500 sq ft unobstructed, per the makerBest for Spiders
Pestbye Long Life Sonic RepellentBattery, 2 x PP3Mouse, RatUp to 2,500 sq ft unobstructed, per the makerBest for Rodents

The ASA has yet to accept an efficacy claim for any pest repeller, ultrasonic included, so the coverage and duration figures on these cards are the makers’ own (ASA).

Best Overall — The Big Cheese Sonic Mouse & Rat Repeller Plug-In

Electrical

1

The Big Cheese Sonic Mouse & Rat Repeller Plug-In

Best Overall

Mains plug-in; target species listed as Mouse, Rat
The maker states it protects areas of up to 37m²
Halo-red LED and a TEST button for an in-situ check, as listed
The listing's own scope: recommended for use once infestations in the home are under control
The maker describes it as suitable to use around children and pets such as cats and dogs
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Suits you once an infestation in the home is under control, which is the use the maker recommends. It plugs into the mains, is listed for mice and rats, and has a halo-red LED and a TEST button so you can check it in place. The maker states an area of up to 37m².

Pros:

  • Mains plug-in, listed for mice and rats
  • LED and TEST button for an in-place check
  • Maker states an area of up to 37m²
  • Listing scopes it to after an infestation is under control

Best Plug-In — VNEED Ultrasonic Pest Repeller Plug-In

Electrical

2

VNEED Ultrasonic Pest Repeller Plug-In

Best Plug-In

Mains plug-in; the listing describes combined electromagnetic and ultrasonic operation
Target species listed as Ant, Cockroach, Flea, Fly, Mosquito, Moth, Mouse, Rat, Spider
The maker states an effective area of up to 1,200 sq ft
Detail row states "Is electric: No" on a product that plugs into a socket
Listed at 0.18 kg; country of origin listed as China
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Suits you if you have more than one kind of pest in mind, since the listing names nine target species, from ant and cockroach to mouse and rat. It is a mains plug-in that the listing describes as combining electromagnetic and ultrasonic operation, and the maker states an area of up to 1,200 sq ft.

Pros:

  • Mains plug-in
  • Nine target species named on the listing
  • Electromagnetic and ultrasonic operation, per the listing
  • Maker states up to 1,200 sq ft

Best for Multiple Rooms — EcoMyLife Ultrasonic Pest Repeller (2 Pack)

Electrical

3

EcoMyLife Ultrasonic Pest Repeller (2 Pack)

Best for Multiple Rooms

Pack size stated two ways on the listing: unit count 2, number of pieces 4
The maker states 1,200 sq ft per repeller
The listing's own limitation: ultrasound cannot pass through walls and solid objects, so it recommends one unit per room
Target species listed as eleven, from ant and bed bug to wasp
Mains plug-in; listed at 0.13 kg; country of origin listed as China
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Pick this if you have more than one room in mind. The pack holds two mains units, and the maker states 1,200 sq ft per unit. The listing says ultrasound cannot pass through walls and solid objects and recommends one unit per room.

Pros:

  • Two units in the pack
  • Listing recommends one unit per room
  • Maker states 1,200 sq ft per unit
  • Eleven target species listed

Best Cordless — Pestbye 360 Ultrasonic Rechargeable Rodent Repeller

Electrical

4

Pestbye 360 Ultrasonic Rechargeable Rodent Repeller

Best Cordless

USB-C rechargeable; the maker states up to 170 hours on a charge
Fixed and variable frequency settings listed as 20–80 kHz
The maker says the variable setting is there to stop rodents becoming accustomed to the sound
Listed for lofts, barns, caravans and homes — places without a power source
Power source listed as Battery Powered; target species not stated in the detail table
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

The one to choose where there is no socket, such as a loft, barn or caravan. It charges by USB-C, and the maker states up to 170 hours on a charge. It has fixed and variable frequency settings across 20 to 80 kHz, and the maker says the variable setting is there so rodents do not become accustomed to the sound.

Pros:

  • USB-C rechargeable; maker states up to 170 hours a charge
  • Fixed and variable settings, 20 to 80 kHz
  • Listed for lofts, barns and caravans

Best for Spiders — Pestbye Battery Operated Spider & Crawling Insect Repeller

Electrical

5

Pestbye Battery Operated Spider Repellent & Deterrent — Ultrasonic Spider & Crawling Insect Repeller

Best for Spiders

Target species listed as Spider — the listing does not name mice
Takes two 9V PP3 batteries, not supplied; the maker states up to 12 months of continuous use
The maker states a signal every 8 seconds covering an unobstructed area of up to 2,500 sq ft
Listed for garages, lofts, outbuildings, sheds, greenhouses and river boats
The maker describes it as safe for pets, wildlife (except rodents) and humans
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

Suits a garage, shed or loft where spiders are the concern, since spider is the target species this listing names. It takes two 9V PP3 batteries, not supplied, and the maker states up to 12 months of continuous use with a signal every 8 seconds over an unobstructed 2,500 sq ft. The listing does not name mice.

Pros:

  • Listed target species: spider
  • Takes two 9V PP3 batteries, not supplied
  • Maker states up to 12 months of use
  • Listed for garages, lofts, sheds and greenhouses

Best for Rodents — Pestbye Long Life Battery Operated Sonic Rat and Mouse Repellent

Product

6

Pestbye Long Life Battery Operated Sonic Rat and Mouse Repellent

Best for Rodents

Target species listed as Mouse, Rat
Takes two 9V PP3 batteries, not supplied; the maker states 8 to 12 months of continuous use
The maker states a signal every 8 seconds covering an unobstructed area of up to 2,500 sq ft
Listed for homes, garages, lofts, outbuildings, sheds and greenhouses
Listed at 9.7 x 9.7 x 2.5 cm with a 2 year warranty
Check price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.

The mouse and rat counterpart of the unit above, listed for homes, garages, lofts, sheds and greenhouses. It takes two 9V PP3 batteries, not supplied, and the maker states 8 to 12 months of continuous use with a signal every 8 seconds over an unobstructed 2,500 sq ft. It carries a 2 year warranty.

Pros:

  • Listed for mice and rats
  • Takes two 9V PP3 batteries, not supplied
  • Maker states 8 to 12 months of use
  • 2 year warranty, as listed

Start with your situation

⚠️

Warning

The ASA reports that it has yet to accept any claim of efficacy for pest repellent devices, and the Internet Center for Wildlife Damage Management lists references it says show ultrasound devices are not effective in controlling rodents. Treat these as a supplement to traps, proofing and sanitation rather than a substitute for them, and read our full evidence review before buying.

What These Devices Are

Ultrasound is defined by the Internet Center for Wildlife Damage Management as sound above the upper limit of human hearing, about 20 kilohertz. Every unit here emits it: four from a wall socket, two from 9V batteries, and one of the six from a rechargeable cell. Their own listings state coverage figures from 37m² to 2,500 sq ft, and those figures are the makers’.

What none of them does is touch the animal. There is no trap, no bait and no barrier on this page — which is why the evidence question below is not academic, and why every alternative named at the end of the page acts on something physical.

What the Regulator and the Literature Say

The ASA’s AdviceOnline entry on pest repellents sets out the advertising position: “In past years, the ASA, together with independent experts, has closely examined the evidence for claims for those devices, which can range from cat-shaped metal sheets with glowing eyes to ultrasonic and electromagnetic equipment. It has yet to accept any claim of efficacy.” and “Marketers who do not hold evidence in the form of UK-based trials should not state or imply efficacy for the products, through either claims, visuals or product names.” (ASA). That is a statement about what evidence has been accepted. It is not a finding that these devices do nothing, and this page does not restate it as one.

The wildlife-damage literature is more specific about rodents. The Internet Center for Wildlife Damage Management writes: “Here are several references that show that ultrasound devices are not effective in controlling rodents.” and quotes a researcher on that work: “I think we demonstrated that the success of a rodent control program with ultrasonics was just as successful if the units were not turned on.” (ICWDM).

The same page reports the other side of it, and so does this one: “In 2011, one researcher found some evidence that ultrasound did keep bats and mice out of an open area (e.g. empty floor, open rafters).” An open loft with no clutter is the setting that finding describes, and it is not the setting most of these products are bought for.

Where They Do Not Work

Through a wall. This is not our claim about the class; it is a maker’s claim about its own product. The EcoMyLife listing states that ultrasound cannot pass through walls and solid objects and recommends one unit per room. Furniture, boxes and doors are in the same category as walls.

On an infestation already under way. The Big Cheese listing scopes itself: recommended for use once infestations in the home are under control. That is the maker of one of these six drawing the line, not us.

As the whole of a control programme. ICWDM’s references are quoted above. Whatever weight a reader gives them, a device that emits sound does not block a gap, remove a food source or catch anything.

What Decides the Choice

1. Power, and where the unit has to go

Four are mains plug-ins and go where the sockets are. Two run on 9V PP3 batteries the listings say are not supplied, and one recharges over USB-C with up to 170 hours claimed. A loft with no socket rules out four of the six.

2. The species the listing actually names

Mouse and rat on two of them; spider only on one; nine species on one; eleven on another; and one names none in its detail table. A listing naming eleven species is making a broader claim than a listing naming two, and the table records which is which.

3. The coverage figure, and whose figure it is

37m², 1,200 sq ft, 2,500 sq ft unobstructed. Every one of those is stated by the maker, and the word “unobstructed” is doing real work in the two that use it, given what the EcoMyLife listing says about walls.

If This Is Not the Answer

Close the way in. Our rodent proofing page covers mesh, wire wool and brush strips — the things that stop an animal entering rather than asking it to leave.

Trap. Our rat traps and mouse traps pages cover the methods that act on the animal directly.

Read the evidence in full. Our guide to whether ultrasonic repellers work goes further into the studies than a product page should.

Placing One

  1. One per room, if you follow the makers’ own advice. The EcoMyLife listing says the sound does not cross a wall.
  2. Keep the line of sight clear. Two listings state their coverage figure for an unobstructed area, which a furnished room is not.
  3. Buy the batteries. Both PP3 units state that cells are not supplied.
  4. Do the other things at the same time. Proofing, cleaning and trapping are what the ICWDM references above are measuring these against.
  5. Judge it against what you also changed. If gaps were sealed in the same week, the device is not the only variable — which is the point the last question below makes.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do ultrasonic pest repellers work?

This page does not answer that in its own voice, and no product page should. The ASA reports that it has yet to accept any claim of efficacy for pest repellent devices, ultrasonic equipment among them. The Internet Center for Wildlife Damage Management goes further for rodents specifically, listing references it says show ultrasound devices are not effective in controlling them, while also reporting a 2011 finding of some evidence that ultrasound kept bats and mice out of an open area. Both are quoted in full above.

Are ultrasonic pest repellers safe for pets (dogs, cats)?

The makers' own claims differ and are on each card: one says its unit is suitable around children and pets such as cats and dogs, another that it is safe for pets and wildlife except rodents. No fetched source on this page tests those claims. A pet that can hear into the ultrasonic range — rabbits, hamsters, guinea pigs and rodents kept as pets — is the case to think about, because these devices are aimed at rodent hearing.

How many units do I need?

The EcoMyLife listing answers this against its own product: it states that ultrasound cannot pass through walls and solid objects and recommends installing one unit per room. The stated coverage figures on this page range from 37m² to 1,200 sq ft to 2,500 sq ft unobstructed, and every one of them is the maker's own.

Do they work on rats, mice, spiders and insects?

The listings disagree about which species they address, and that is a fact about the listings rather than about the devices: one names mouse and rat only, one names spider only, one names nine species and one names eleven. The comparison table below carries each listing's own target species.

Can I use one alongside traps and poison?

Nothing on these listings says otherwise, and one of them — The Big Cheese unit — states its own scope as being for use once an infestation in the home is under control. Our rat trap, mouse trap, rat poison and mouse poison pages cover the methods that act on the animal directly.

Why are reviews so mixed for ultrasonic pest repellers?

Reviews for ultrasonic pest repellers are notoriously polarised — you will see a mix of five-star and one-star reviews for virtually every product on the market. This is likely because: confirmation bias plays a role (people who buy them want them to work); pest activity is often seasonal and may decline naturally, leading people to credit the device; some users may simultaneously be taking other measures (cleaning, sealing gaps) without realising those actions are doing the real work; and the devices may have a short-term startling effect on pests that wears off quickly as they habituate.

A rodent problem that needs dealing with?

Compare pest control providers near you — no fees, no commissions.

Rather call a professional? Find pest control near you

Enter a postcode or choose an area. The directory is sorted by rating. A Featured firm, when one is listed, sits in a separate box labelled Featured (paid).