Affiliate disclosure: PestPro Index is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This helps us keep the site running and free for everyone. As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
This page used to rank five mouse repellents and tell you which worked best. It no longer does, and the reason is worth reading before the products: the UK advertising regulator has looked at the evidence behind claims for this class of product and has not accepted one.
Start with your situation
- You want to know whether these products are proven to work. The ASA has examined the evidence for pest repellent devices with independent experts and has yet to accept a claim of efficacy (ASA/CAP) — what the regulator says.
- You want mice to stop getting in. Sealing gaps is the one thing on this page a source supports, and the number that matters is 6mm (Oxford City Council) — what actually reduces mouse entry.
- You already have mice inside. A deterrent is not a treatment — traps, bait stations and poison are different pages and a different decision.
- You want to see the products anyway. Four are listed below with what their listings state and nothing more.
Warning
Nothing on this page is described as proven to repel mice, because no source we hold supports that for any of it. Where a product makes a claim, it is reported as the manufacturer’s claim and attributed to them.
What You Are Actually Dealing With
A house mouse gets in through an opening far smaller than most people picture, and then lives somewhere you cannot see. Oxford City Council’s pest advice notes that “Mice often nest in hard-to-detect places, such as under floorboards or in wall cavities.” (Oxford City Council). That is the fact every product on this page is up against: a scent or a sound in the room is not reaching the space the animal is living in.
The same advice gives the reason mice matter indoors beyond the nuisance — “Mice are a concern in buildings due to their need to gnaw on hard materials to maintain their teeth, which poses a fire risk from damaged cables.” A deterrent that a mouse ignores leaves that risk exactly where it was.
What the Advertising Regulator Says
The Committee of Advertising Practice publishes guidance on how pest repellents may be advertised in the UK, and it is unusually direct:
“In past years, the ASA, together with independent experts, has closely examined the evidence for claims for those devices, which can range from cat-shaped metal sheets with glowing eyes to ultrasonic and electromagnetic equipment. It has yet to accept any claim of efficacy.”
And on what a seller may therefore say: “Marketers who do not hold evidence in the form of UK-based trials should not state or imply efficacy for the products, through either claims, visuals or product names.” (ASA/CAP, Pest repellents).
Read that carefully, because it does not say these products do not work. It says no claim of efficacy has been accepted, and that a seller without UK trial evidence should not imply one. Those are different statements and this page is not going to blur them. The same guidance notes that “No set rules exist for testing the efficacy of repellent devices under UK conditions.” — so the absence of accepted evidence is partly an absence of any agreed way to produce it.
It is also why the reviews are not the answer here. The guidance is explicit that “Marketers should remember that customer testimonials do not by themselves constitute evidence of efficacy and claims.” A long run of five-star reviews is not a trial.
Where These Products Do Not Help
Three limits follow from the listings themselves rather than from any judgement of ours.
An ultrasonic unit is bounded by the room it is in. The EcoMyLife listing states coverage of 1200 square feet per unit in a feature bullet, while its own detail table gives a maximum range of 93 centimetres. We are not going to reconcile those two figures for the manufacturer; we report that the listing carries both.
A scent product has to be re-applied to keep existing. The RepellShield listing directs reapplication every two to three days, and the REPELEM spray directs daily application to entry points for the first week. Those are the makers’ own instructions, and they describe an ongoing job rather than a fix.
None of them closes the hole. Two of the four listings do not state a target species at all, and none of the four is a physical barrier. Whatever a mouse thinks of the smell or the sound, the gap it came through is still there in the morning.
What Actually Reduces Mouse Entry
This is the part of the page with a source behind it. Oxford City Council gives the measurement that decides everything else: “Even gaps as small as 6mm, like those around pipes, can allow entry, so sealing these is crucial.” (Oxford City Council). Six millimetres is smaller than most people search for, which is why a proofing job that looks thorough often is not.
Defra’s rodent control code of practice puts prevention ahead of everything else — “The overall aim should be to prevent rodent infestations becoming established in the first place.” — and is blunt about the alternative: “It is unacceptable to repeatedly make remedial applications of rodenticides on premises where insufficient attention is paid to preventing the ingress of rodents” (Defra code of practice). That code is written for poultry units; the animal and the gap are the same in a house.
It also does not pretend proofing is easy: “Effective proofing of buildings or other structures against mouse entry is often extremely difficult due to their ability to get through very small gaps, but efforts to limit entry will have some beneficial effect.” That is a fair description of the work — not a guarantee, and better than anything claimed for the products below.
We do not currently card any proofing material, and this page’s description used to say we did. It offered “Steel wool, peppermint sprays and sealants”; no steel wool and no sealant has ever been carded here. The description has been corrected rather than the gap quietly left open.
Ultrasonic, mains powered — EcoMyLife Ultrasonic Pest Repeller 2 Pack
Electrical
EcoMyLife Ultrasonic Pest Repeller 2 Pack
Ultrasonic, mains powered
- Electric plug-in unit; power source listed as AC/DC
- Sold as a 2 pack; listed at 6 x 7 x 14 cm
- Target species listed as eleven, from ants and bed bugs to mice, rats and wasps
- The maker claims coverage of 1200 sq ft per unit; the detail table gives a maximum range of 93 centimetres
- Listed for indoor use; country of origin listed as China
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
A mains plug-in unit sold in twos. Its detail table lists eleven target species, from ants and bed bugs through to mice, rats and wasps — which is a wide claim for one device, and it is the manufacturer’s, not ours. The coverage figure and the maximum range figure on the same listing do not agree with each other.
Peppermint oil spray, 250ml — RepellShield Rat & Mouse Repellent Spray
Spray
RepellShield Rat & Mouse Repellent Spray 250ml
Peppermint oil spray, 250ml
- Item form listed as Oil; scent listed as Peppermint
- 250 ml, listed as a pack of one
- Target species listed as Mouse, Rat
- Listed for indoor use; manufacturer Vivere GmbH, country of origin Germany
- The maker's directions: reapply every 2-3 days, with persistent use over 2-3 weeks
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
A 250ml peppermint oil spray for indoor use, and the only one of the four whose detail table names mice and rats and nothing else. The ultrasonic unit above also lists them, but inside a roster of eleven species; the other two spray and sachet listings state no target species at all. The maker directs reapplication every two to three days and persistent use over two to three weeks.
Peppermint and geraniol spray, 250ml — REPELEM Rat & Mouse Repellent Spray
Spray
REPELEM Rat & Mouse Repellent Spray 250ml — Peppermint Oil
Peppermint and geraniol spray, 250ml
- The maker describes the formula as peppermint oil and geraniol
- Item form listed as Oil; scent listed as Peppermint
- 250 ml, listed as a pack of one
- No target species stated in the listing's detail table
- The maker's directions: apply daily to entry points for the first week, then once or twice weekly
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Also 250ml, and the maker describes the formula as peppermint oil with geraniol rather than peppermint alone. Its detail table states no target species. The directions are the most demanding of the four: daily application to entry points for the first week, reducing to once or twice weekly.
Paper and corn cob sachets, 6 pack — REPELEM Rat & Mouse Repellent Peppermint Oil Sachets
Bait
REPELEM Rat & Mouse Repellent Peppermint Oil Sachets — 6 Pack
Paper and corn cob sachets, 6 pack
- The maker describes each sachet as paper, corn cobs and peppermint oil
- Size listed as 6 sachets; scent listed as Peppermint
- No target species stated in the listing's detail table
- The maker claims each sachet retains its scent for up to 90 days
- The maker suggests confined spaces such as cars, caravans, lofts and sheds
As an Amazon Associate, PestPro Index earns from qualifying purchases.
Six sachets, described by the maker as paper, corn cobs and peppermint oil, with a claimed scent life of up to 90 days per sachet. Its detail table states no target species. The maker suggests confined spaces — cars, caravans, lofts, sheds — which is the one setting where a scent has least room to disperse.
If This Is Not the Answer
Seal the building first. It is the only step on this page with a source behind it, and it is the one that stops the next mouse as well as this one.
If mice are already inside, a deterrent is the wrong tool. Trapping is the lower-risk way to remove them — see our mouse traps page.
If you are considering bait, read the conditions first. Rodenticide has to sit in a lockable station as a condition of its own label, which is our mouse bait stations page, and which substance is in the pack decides whether it works on mice at all, which is our mouse poison page. HSE asks you to weigh that step rather than take it first: “it is important to remember to consider other available control methods, such as those listed above, before reaching for anticoagulant products.” (HSE).
Using Them, If You Use Them
Every instruction below is the manufacturer’s own, taken from the listing. We are not adding a method of our own to products whose efficacy no source we hold establishes.
- Follow the reapplication interval on the pack. Two to three days for one spray, daily for the first week for the other. A scent product that is not maintained is not doing whatever it does.
- Put sachets where air is still. The maker’s own suggestion is confined spaces such as cars, caravans, lofts and sheds.
- Give an ultrasonic unit line of sight. Its own listing says the sound does not pass through walls and solid objects, so a unit behind furniture is covering less than the room.
- Do not treat any of it as the proofing job. None of these products closes a 6mm gap, and the gap is what let the mouse in.
- Judge it on whether activity actually stops. Droppings, gnaw marks and noise are the measure; the absence of a smell you have grown used to is not.
The Four Products Compared
Every column below is what the Amazon listing itself states. Where a listing does not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing. There is no ranking column, because nothing on this page establishes an order.
| Product | What it is | Form as listed | Size as listed | Target species as listed | Where listed for use |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EcoMyLife Ultrasonic Repeller | Ultrasonic, mains powered | Electric plug-in | 2 units | Ant, Bed Bug, Cockroach, Flea, Fly, Mosquito, Moth, Mouse, Rat, Spider, Wasp | Indoor |
| RepellShield Spray | Peppermint oil spray, 250ml | Oil | 250 ml | Mouse, Rat | Indoor |
| REPELEM Spray | Peppermint and geraniol spray, 250ml | Oil | 250 ml | not stated | not stated |
| REPELEM Sachets | Paper and corn cob sachets, 6 pack | Sachet | 6 sachets | not stated | not stated |
Mice getting in faster than you can seal gaps?
Proofing an older building is a long job and not always a DIY one. Compare pest control providers near you — no fees, no commissions.